Restaurant Review – Momma’s Mojo in Mobile, Alabama

Summary –
Food – 10/10 – Fantastic Cuban food – give it a try
Service – 8/10 – Nice and friendly, your food is made right in front of you.
Decor/Interior – 7/10 – Neat and clean with 32 places to sit. There seems to be a big crowd at lunch, but not as many in the evenings.
Prices – 7/10 – About right – not a bargain but you get large portions. Sandwiches are large and one will be enough for two people – unless you are very hungry.

Review –
When Momma’s Mojo opened at the end of Cottage Hill Road a while back, my wife and I were skeptical. Decent Cuban food in west Mobile? Surely not. A while back, we went by to give them a chance and were disappointed to find that they were closed due to a fire. We guessed that it would be the last that we would hear of Momma’s, but – happily – we were were wrong and can give the place a glowing review.

For our two visits, we’ve had the same thing: Cuban sandwiches, plantains, and little cups of Cuban espresso. The food is terrific. The Cubans are wonderful – ham, pork, pickles, and Cuban bread, among other ingredients. It’s hard to do the sandwich justice in words alone. The fried plantains are a decadent treat for dessert. My father ate them with us the other night and he compared them to candied yams.

Much as I like the Cubans and plantains, the little cups of espresso that are loaded with sugar are my favorite part of the meal. The staff at Momma’s always makes the espresso after you order it, so it is always fresh and hot. You won’t need to worry about falling asleep any time soon after drinking one. As for me, I could have espresso after every meal and never grow tired of it.

There is lots of other stuff on Momma’s menu that I have yet to try. Most of it sounds excellent. I might eventually sample something besides the Cuban sandwich, but I will always have the plantains and espresso. For more information, check out their website at:
http://www.mommasmojoal.com/

Way back in 1992, I took a trip to Miami and fell in love with Cuban food. Eating at Momma’s brought back a lot of fond memories. Happily, Mobilians don’t have to travel that far to get excellent Cuban food.

And no, the Mojo Man is in no way, shape, or form associated with the people who run Momma’s – I’m just a fan. Foodies should give Momma’s Mojo a try.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Off Topic and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

