Update on The Girls #12 – C’s First Birthday & “Killer Thighs”

C – C’s first birthday was yesterday and we had a big party with her Bibi and Pop (grandparents), friends, and family. It’s difficult to think that we don’t have an infant in the house any longer. C is now a toddler. She’ll be toddling along any day; she can stand, but she still lacks the confidence to move on her own.

The party was a lot of fun. C’s Mom made her two cakes – one for everyone to eat and a “smash cake” that she could maul.  Mom worked on the cakes for hours Tuesday; they were in the shapes of caterpillars. Apparently, she understood the purpose of the smash cake, as it ended up everywhere.

As for the party itself, she got an engraved silver cup (from great grandmother), a locket with her initial on it (from my sister), some magnets for the fridge, a lift-the-flap book by Karen Katz, a Disney storybook, and several other gifts. Her favorite gift was the box that contained the cup.

E – took the attention paid to little sister pretty well. Our family tradition is that when one kid has a birthday, the other kid gets one gift. She got a stuffed Minnie Mouse and a Minnie Mouse Christmas ornament and she just loves them. She slept with the stuffed Minnie last night. E also got a locket with her initial on it from my sister.

Off the subject of C’s birthday, we have magazines in the bathrooms for E as she continues her potty training. One of the magazines is a copy of Shape that has the headline “Killer Thighs” on the cover. I made the mistake of reading the words “Killer Thighs” out loud and that has become one of E’s favorite expressions.

My Mom & Dad (Bibi and Pop) visited and they brought down the old table and chairs at which my sister and I used to play as kids. It’s neat to think that my kids can play at the same table a generation later. As my sister said, “We sat in those little chairs until our butts got too big to fit in them any longer.” The parents have also brought down two little rocking chairs for The Girls; one was Mom’s when she was a girl and one belonged to Dad. Of course, my sister and I used those as well.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in My Kids - E & C and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

