Update on The Girls #14 – Double Double Toil & Trouble

Over our coffee in the morning, we often read the local paper. During these times, my wife often tells me that I have to read the comic strip Baby Blues. The strip features a pair of overworked parents who are struggling to raise their kids. We can often relate to Baby Blues, as the joys and challenges of parenting are common occurrences at our place.

Today was one such day. We just had new carpet installed in our older daughter’s bedroom after a leak in the plumbing and ruined her old carpet. It took about two months from the time of the leak to the installation of new carpet. Well, while we were not looking today, our eldest daughter carried a huge jug of water into her room and poured it on her new carpet.

Mom & I scrambled to clean it up with towels, Shop Vac, and finally a hair dryer. We’ll see what happens, but we think that we got most of the water. Unfortunately, E was traumatized when she realized that pouring the water on the rug was not a good thing to do.

Afterward, I was putting up dishes from the dishwasher and E’s adorable little sister C crawled over to me. She grabbed a glass bowl out of the dishwasher and smashed it on the tile floor. Dad had to spend some time cleaning up shards and vacuuming. Unlike, her big sister, C is far too small to worry about causing her parents grief.

The girls are wonderful, but their “challenging” moments have given both of us a new respect for parents everywhere. We’re having a few glasses of wine this evening.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in My Kids - E & C. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

