What I’m reading… The Opelika-Auburn News on former Auburn Star Terry Beasley

My parents sent a link from my hometown newspaper, the Opelika-Auburn News. It’s an account of the post-football life of former Auburn star Terry Beasley.

Growing up in Auburn, I was a huge football fan. Auburn wasn’t very good when I started watching in the late-1970s and early-1980s. For Auburn’s backers, former receiver Terry Beasley, who played in the late-60s and early-70s, was like a god – a figure from another time when Auburn used to win some games.

The article details Beasley’s awful health, and reporter Ryan Wood asks Beasley whether the glory was worth the price that he is now paying for it. (On a lighter note, the article also has some funny stories about the culture shock that Beasley experienced when he moved from Auburn to San Francisco to play for the 49ers in the early-1970s). I still enjoy football, but the game is going to have to change. If you’re a football fan, you’ll want to read this excellent story. The link is here –

http://www.oanow.com/sports/college/auburn/football/article_5a4df952-e43e-11e2-8f20-001a4bcf6878.html

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

