What I’m Reading – A Matter of Conscience by Sherry Hoppe.

OK, I’ve been a major slacker on the “book blog.” But I’m going to try to get going again.

image

Yesterday, I borrowed A Matter of Conscience by Sherry Hoppe from my local library. It’s the stranger-than-fiction story of former Auburn football star, Bobby Hoppe (1934-2008). He was a standout on Auburn’s 1957 National Championship team. 31 years later, he stood trial for a Chattanooga murder that occurred in the summer of 1957.

The book is by Bobby’s widow, Sherry. Sherry was once president of Austin Peay University in Tennessee. The book is very biased toward Bobby’s side of the case, but it’s a page turner. I didn’t start reading until after lunch, but I’d read 160+ pages before bedtime.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Alabama & Mobile, Books, Books, Articles, & the Arts, Uncategorized, What I'm Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

