What I’m Reading – Tuesday, 21 June 2016 – Killers in the Family, Saudi Women in the Wall Street Journal, & Garden & Gun’s June-July Issue

Tuesday morning, the Mojowoman drove the kids over to camp while I rode shotgun. I stole a few glances @ Tuesday’s Wall Street Journal, which I’d just grabbed from our driveway. They always have a great human-interest story on the front page. Tuesday’s was about the trend in Saudi Arabia for women to go drive bumper cars, as they are not allowed to drive on Saudi Arabia’s roads.

image

You go, girls!

While a few of the women say that they are practing so that they can drive when they go abroad, more of them just want to have a “Girls Night Out” when they can wear Western fashions and hairstyles without interference from men.

The story is here –

http://www.wsj.com/articles/saudi-arabian-women-love-bumper-cars-but-not-for-bumping-1466445023

***

I keep trying to decide how much I like the magazine Garden & Gun. It’s sort of a more chi-chi version of Southern Living. I like it, but I haven’t decided whether to pony up for a subscription.

While the kids played in the pool after camp, I read a little from the June-July issue. They had a nice article on an eatery in Chattanooga called Main Street Meats, but – unfortunately – I have no prospects of visiting Chattanooga any time soon.

On the other hand, New Orleans is just a couple of hours away and the Mojowoman and I have been jonesing for a visit. Garden and Gun has a nice article on Alexa Putlitzer’s refurbished home in Bayou Saint John (“Crescent City Charmer,” pp. 61-64). The home is beautiful and “very New Orleans.”

The article is here –

http://gardenandgun.com/article/homeplace-crescent-city-charmer

The most-memorable aspect of the home is that Alexa salvaged an old bathtub and put it in the backyard, where she uses it as a cooler to ice down her drinks for parties. Obviously, Alexa and her husband are much more involved in entertaining than are we.

image

Drinks are in the tub in the photo on the left. (My party invitation got lost in the mail – again).

***

At night, I continued reading Killers in the Family by Robert L. Snow. I thought that the book seemed better than it did Monday night. I read Chapters 3-5 (pages 30-77) before I had to zonk. The chapters detail the history of the Reese family in Indianapolis; according to Snow, all of the parents and the four boys have been involved in crime to a greater or lesser extent. However, the two Reese daughters have no records – an accomplishment for someone who grew up in that environment.

image

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Articles, Books, Books, Articles, & the Arts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

