What I Stopped Reading – & Read – Thursday, 23 June 2016 – Killers in the Family by Robert L. Snow, GQ on The Love Gov, & 361 by Donald Westlake

I threw in the towel on Killers in the Family by Robert L. Snow. The book devolved into a dull account of a trial, recounted verbatim from the trial transcriptions. I made it about halfway through the book. I hate to quit in the middle, but I’m relieved not to be reading it.

Obviously, the book was a big disappointment, even more so, given that Snow’s first book, Slaughter on North Lasalle was excellent.

***

GQ has an account of Alabama Governor Robert Bentley’s affair with a much-younger staffer. I knew a lot of this stuff from reading our local press and the article is tinged by author Jason Zengerle’s cliched descriptions of the South. Still, I found it hard to put down.

The article here –

http://www.gq.com/story/affair-robert-bentley-alabama-governor

***

In the afternoon, I started reading Donald Westlake’s 361, which I purchased in a thrift store Wednesday for $1. Maybe it’s just my relief at quitting Killers in the Family, but I enjoyed the first two chapters.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

