What I’m Reading – Saturday, 25 June 2016 – Donald Westlake’s 361, Wade Davis’ The Serpent & The Rainbow, & Lagniappe

In the morning, I finished the last few pages (185-207) of Donald Westlake’s 361. It’s perfect beach reading – escapism that allows you to drift away from the real world.

image

I’ll write a review of 361 A.S.A.P.

***

After Westlake, I wanted to do something entirely different. So, I started Wade Davis’ The Serpent and The Rainbow. I found the book @ one of my all-time favorite used book stores – The Book Nook in Atlanta. It’s been sitting on my shelf for a bit. But during that time, my wife read it and said that it was excellent.

Davis was an ethnobotany grad student @ Harvard University when he wrote the book. Serpent tells of Davis’ search for the truth behind Haiti’s zombies.

image

I read the first four chapters (through page 64) and the book is excellent. Davis is a surprisingly-skilled writer for an academic. My only gripe is that – unlike Westlake – Davis might not have been the ideal choice for the beach. I had to reread several passages after getting distracted by “the passing parade” along the shoreline.

***

Finally, I read a bit in this week’s (June 23-29) issue of Mobile’s Lagniappe. The story that really caught my eye was on page 7. It concerns an adoption case in which the biological mother and father of a boy split before his birth. Allegedly, the mother then told the father that the child had died and put him up for adoption. The father found out that his son was alive after the adoption was final. The case is now in front of the Alabama Supreme Court for the second time.

The story is here –

http://lagniappemobile.com/childs-death-faked-conceal-adoption/

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Alabama & Mobile, Articles, Books, Books, Articles, & the Arts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

