Monday, 27 June 2016 – Major Book Greed

My late sister, A, used to say that someone had “book greed” or “major book greed” when he or she bought a bunch of books. (A was no stranger to book greed).

Today the Mojowoman & I had to go out to the local Dollar Tree to get a new spiral notebook for our older daughter. Our daughter draws nonstop, so she goes through paper like nobody’s business.

I went down the office supplies aisle, but was distracted by the books. By the time we went out of Dollar Tree, we were the owners of eleven new books – nine for me, two for the Mojowoman.

Here was my haul –

  1. Back to Blood by Tom Wolfe (the only fiction that we bought),
  2. The Magical Stranger – A Son’s Journey Into His Father’s Life by Stephen Rodrick,
  3. Bargain Fever – How to Shop in a Discounted World by Mark Ellwood,
  4. Hollywood Hypocrites – The Devastating Truth About Obama’s Biggest Backers by Jason Mattera,
  5. The Deserters – A Hidden History of World War II by Charles Glass,
  6. The Eastern Stars – How Baseball Changed the Dominican Town of San Pedro de Macoris by Mark Kuransky,
  7. This Love is Not For Cowards – Salvation and Soccer in Ciudad Juarez by Robert Andrew Powell,
  8. Class A Baseball in the Middle of Everywhere by Lucas Mann, &
  9. League of Denial – The NFL, Concussions, and The Battle for Truth by Mark Fainaru-Wada and Steve Fainaru

In my humble opinion, the 5th book on deserters during World War II was the real find. It’s been on my reading list for a long time. No doubt I’ll be blogging on some of these books before long.

The Mojowoman controlled herself better than I did. Her two books are –

  • Prophet’s Prey – My Seven-Year Investigation into Warren Jeffs and the Fundamentalist Church of Latter-Day Saints by Sam Brower, &
  • Shadows on The Gulf – A Journey Through Our Last Great Wetland by Rowan Jacobsen.

Eleven new books for eleven bucks – can’t beat it with a stick.

Oh yes, we got so excited over the books that we forgot to buy the spiral notebook for our daughter. So, we’ll be back…

 

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

