What I’m Reading – Sunday, 26 June 2016 – The Serpent & The Rainbow and Lagniappe

Sunday I continued with Wade Davis’ The Serpent and The Rainbow. I went from page 64 to page 127. At this point in the book, Davis has made some preliminary investigations into zombies in Haiti (Part One) and he has just returned to Harvard (Part Two) to try to make sense of his findings.

image

Hotel Oloffson in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. Author Wade Davis stayed here while writing The Serpent and the Rainbow.

I’m really enjoying Serpent. The material about Haiti probably interests me more than does the zombie material. (Don’t get me wrong, the zombie stuff is quite good). The book intrigued me enough to look up a few references online. Davis stayed @ the Hotel Oloffson (http://hoteloloffson.com), which is still in operation and apparently has hosted many of the celebs who visit Haiti (for instance: Mick Jagger, Lillian Hellman, and Jackie Onassis, among many others).

***

I was a bit lazy and never made it out to get the Sunday papers. So, I contented myself with finishing Mobile’s alternative paper, Lagniappe. I read this week’s cover piece, which is a depressing (but important) story on a white Mobile police officer who recently shot and killed a black teenager. Predictably, there are differing versions of “what really happened” and no one seems to know whether the story will blow over or become an ongoing controversy.

The story is here –

http://lagniappemobile.com/police-shooting-tests-spirit-one-mobile/

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

