Tuesday, 5 July 2016 – Read a bit of Kem Nunn’s Tijuana Straits & The Wall Street Journal

Tuesday I was wrung out from the 4th & didn’t do much reading. I managed about five or six pages in Kem Nunn’s Tijuana Straits. It was OK, but I was too tired to get into it.

image

If you want to be in the Park Slope Food Co-op, you better follow the rules.

I also read The Wall Street Journal’s page one report (from Friday) on a Brooklyn food co-op’s attempts to police itself. The co-op has a number of rules that members are supposed to follow. (For instance, members must work in the co-op for 2 hours, 45 minutes every four weeks; members cannot allow non-members to shop there). The article explains what happens when people get out of line and are put on “trial” for their alleged transgressions.

It’s a good human interest story. It is here –

http://www.wsj.com/articles/buying-organic-groceries-in-brooklyn-can-be-a-serious-trial-1467315599

It was my last Wall Street Journal until I renew the subscription. I’ll probably wait a few weeks because I don’t want the hassle of stopping it while I am traveling.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Articles, Books, Books, Articles, & the Arts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

