Wednesday, 6 July 2016 Promiscuity – Kem Nunn’s Tijuana Straits, Hanna Raskin’s Yelp Help, The Wall Street Journal, & The Mobile Press-Register

Sometimes I can be promiscuous – in my reading. I read a few pages of Kem Nunn’s Tijuana Straits, but set it aside. I’m still enjoying it and intend to finish it. But Wednesday it just wasn’t the right book.

image

I’ve written a few online restaurant reviews and I would like to get back into it. So, when I was surfing Amazon and found Hanna Raskin’s Yelp Help – How to Write Great Online Restaurant Reviews and found that I could get the digital copy for $2.99, I took the bait.

So far, it’s good, but not great – maybe a 6/10. She goes into too much detail on restaurant management for my taste. I’ve read 53 of 91 pages.

***

Since my Wall Street Journal subscription just expired, I’m enjoying the final copy as long as possible. Wednesday I found an article on how Victoria’s Secret (V.S.) is struggling to adapt to changes in American women’s preferences for undies. V.S. Has a staggering 60% market share, but it’s struggling as women turn toward more-comfortable, less-expensive options. People have long complained that the fashion world uses unrealistic-looking models. Is this practice finally coming back to bite them?

image

The article is great food for thought. It’s here –

http://www.wsj.com/articles/how-the-bralette-has-upended-victorias-secret-1467218076

***

My hometown Mobile Press-Register and I have a complicated relationship. I love to read, but the Newhouse family (that owns the paper) cut it back to three days per week in 2012. Since then, they’ve dramatically cut their staff and – in the issues that they do publish – they’ve started including too much news for Birmingham and Huntsville (where the Newhouses also own the now three-day-per-week papers).

But, like a fatal attraction, I always take the Press-Register back. Wednesday, I was in the drug store getting my daughter some belly meds, when I saw the PR in the rack. Seductively, she called to me (“You know we’ll have a good time”), and I shelled out my $1.50 for her.

image

Actually, the PR was decent with several good articles. One that caught my eye was Baldwin County, Alabama’s attempts to prevent the Obama administration from resettling unaccompanied minors who crossed the U.S. Border without papers. Alabama has been tilting @ windmills where the federal government is concerned for decades, and it seems that things aren’t about to change.

The article is here –

http://www.al.com/news/mobile/index.ssf/2016/07/baldwin_county_maintains_force.html

As I tossed the PR into the recycle bin this morning, I thought that I could hear her laughing at me and whispering, “You’ll be baaaaaack.”

 

 

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Alabama & Mobile, Articles, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

