Thursday, 7 July 2016 Lagniappe’s Summer Rerun a Surprise Hit

On the way to get my older daughter from camp, I saw that the weekly Lagniappe (Mobile’s free, alternative newspaper) was in its box. I grabbed a copy.

The bad news that that they were serving cold potatoes – an old story from 2004 when they were just getting started. The good news is that it’s a terrific, true-crime story.

In 1973, someone murdered Arch McKay, who was one of the editors of the Mobile Press-Register newspaper. The case has never been solved. But the story is amazing. It involves – among many other things – the Dixie Mafia, prostitution, gambling, drugs, hints of homosexuality, and illegal kickbacks from concerts staged @ Mobile’s Civic Center.

image

Cold potatoes or not, don’t miss this one. Here’s the link –

Who killed Arch McKay? A look back at one of Mobile’s most notorious unsolved murders

***

I read a little bit in Kem Nunn’s Tijuana Straits. I’m determined to finish, but it’s dragging.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Alabama & Mobile, Articles, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

