Finishing Ralph Dennis’ MacTaggart’s War

I finished the final hundred pages of MacTaggart’s War Friday. It was a good book, but not great. The last 100 pages have a dramatic shift in tone toward graphic violence. And the end just isn’t that satisfying. I’m glad that I read the book, but I can’t recommend it.

With MacTaggart, I’ve now read Ralph Dennis’ oeuvre – all twelve Hardman novels, MacTaggart’s War, Atlanta, and Deadman’s Game. Dennis has been my “go-to” author for fun reading for the past several years. I don’t know that he ever wrote a great novel, but he always kept the pages turning – and that’s no mean feat.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

