Tuesday, 3 January 2017 All The Young Dudes

Work is looming for me in the next little bit, so my reading slowed down a bit Tuesday. I have my library working on finding an interlibrary loan copy of Diary of a Rock n’ Roll Star by Ian Hunter of Mott the Hoople. It’s a diary of his 1972 U.S. Tour when Mott was riding high on the song “All the Young Dudes.” For whatever reason, Diary’s price is higher than the national debt of a banana republic, so I probably won’t get to read it if the library can’t find a copy for me.

img_0107

Instead, I stuck with some work-related reading – the HBR (Harvard Business Review) Guide to Persuasive Presentations by Nancy Duarte. I read 40 pages or so and it was good. I’m about two-thirds done with it. (Yes, I started and stopped and now I’ve started again). I’m a decent teacher in terms of organizing material, but I could use some help making my presentations better. I don’t want to sound like Ben Stein when I am teaching.

img_0108

Last, I read a bit of the Wall Street Journal. They had an article about how some of the pioneers of the 401K retirement funds have come to have grave doubts about 401Ks. Since most companies throw their workers onto the public dime @ retirement, I’d say that the misgivings about 401Ks are well founded, if a day late and a dollar short (haha).

***

Little House on the Prairie On the Shorts of Silver Lake was again the bedtime story. My cold is still around, so T read three chapters to them –

Ch. 13 – Breaking Camp – in which Uncle Hi leaves and Pa helps serve some fake “legal” papers on a man who doesn’t know any better,

Ch. 14 – The Surveyor’s House – The Wilders spend the winter far from any neighbors, having feasts and listening to Pa play his fiddle, and

Ch. 15 – Last Man Out – in which Pa helps convince an elderly man with consumption that he cannot stay by himself as winter comes to the prairie.

The kids loved the stories. E was down quickly afterward. C got up, obviously nervous about school.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

