Saturday, 14 January 2017 Lotsa Reading

Saturday I was tired from the week and spent most of the day reading.

On a down note, I finished reading Grady Baby, going from page 203 to the end. It was like pulling teeth. The book has good material, but it is a bunch of poorly-organized vignettes. I should have cut my losses and found something else to read. I give it 4/10.

***

I put in an ILL (interlibrary loan) request for Paul Talbot’s Mondo Mandingo. It’s self published & focuses on the franchise of Mandingo books and movies. I’ve wanted to read it for a long time, but I’m too cheap to buy it.

img_0123

There’s no word from the library on my ILL request for Ian Hunter’s Diary of a Rock n’ Roll Star. However, I saw that it said “Request Sent” in the online record. Maybe that means I will get the book. Fingers are crossed.

***

Our reading to the kids was different. Saturday C had a lot of struggles with her temper. She fought with E (her sister) a lot and – when that got old – she went into the kitchen and picked on T (her mother). So, C lost both of her bedtime stories.

img_0122

At bedtime, I worked with C on her word ring while E had her story. The word ring is a metal circle like you’d see in a notebook; small cards are attached to the ring; each card has a word on it that C is supposed to learn to read. C did well on her word ring, but she struggled with a few words, such as “going.”

T read The Spotted Cow (1973) by Donald Nelsen to E for E’s bedtime story.

***

Just before bed, I encountered an article on GQ.com about an Iowa high school football player named Zac Easter. He committed suicide at age 27 after suffering severe cognitive problems. Easter requested that Dr. Bennet Omalu study his brain after his death. Omalu found that Easter had CTE (chronic traumatic encephalopathy).

The story held my attention and – as a football fan – it gave me a lot to ponder. I didn’t make it to bed until 11:30 p.m. Because I was engrossed in the article.

It is here –

http://www.gq.com/story/the-concussion-diaries-high-school-football-cte

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Books, My Kids - E & C, Sports, What I'm Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

