Sunday, 15 January 2017 – “…Spielberg, like most of us, straddles two worlds, two views of the family: the child’s wish to escape and the grown-up’s yearning to go back to some idealized version of family.”

Sunday morning I rode down to Wal-Mart and picked up our online grocery order. It took them a while to bring them out to the car. So, I read the Wall Street Journal while I waited.

img_0126

They have a review of a new biography of Steven Spielberg by Molly Haskell. I’ve never been a big Spielberg fan, but the Wall Street Journal had a quote from the Haskell book that knocked my socks off –

“…Spielberg, like most of us, straddles two worlds, two views of the family: the child’s wish to escape and the grown-up’s yearning to go back to some idealized version of family.”

Yes, I thought, that’s exactly the way it is.

***

I needed another book, but couldn’t stomach the idea of heading over to the uni library. And Mobile Public is closed on Sundays. So, I downloaded the Domingo Soto’s book Apprehended – The Trials of Dickie Lynn (2013). Soto is a well-known criminal defense attorney here in Mobile. I was attracted by the local angle and by the complex smuggling ring @ the center of  the case.

Amazon.com has the electronic version of Apprehended for just $3.99. Also, you can read the first six (of thirty) chapters for free before buying. Once I read the preview, I was certain that it was worth taking a $3.99 chance to buy it.

img_0127

So far, the book is quite good. According to Soto, the smuggling ring involved a group of childhood friends from the Florida Keys, including Dickie Lynn and a former Miami Hurricanes football star. Apprehended goes on to state that the ring eventually pulled in many others, including a New Orleans attorney, and many different people in Colombia, the Bahamas, Belize, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida – among other places.

While the raw material in Apprehended is great, the book could use some editing. There are so many different characters and events that it’s hard to keep track of all it. Also, Soto “doubles back” and covers the same event more than one time. Still, I’m enjoying the book and I’d give it 8/10 so far. I read the first 66 pages Sunday.

***

With the MLK holiday Monday, the kids chose to have a slumber party in C’s room Sunday night. T read them a couple of chapters from By the Shores of Silver Lake as their bedtime story.

In Chapter 28 (“Moving Day”), the Ingalls family moved to their homestead. They see Laura’s future husband, Almanzo on the way. In Chapter 29 (“Shanty on Claim”), Pa works on their house and gathers wood for cooking. At the end of the chapter, Laura’s sister, Grace, gets lost and they have to find her.

There are just two chapters left in the book. We’ll finish them tonight.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

