Monday, 16 January 2017 Apprehended

I finished reading Domingo Soto’s Apprehended – The Trials of Dickie Lynn. It’s a good book, but not great. The last hundred pages or so weren’t as strong as the first sixty. For $3.99, I don’t feel cheated, but the book could have been so much better with better organization.

***

The Girls have developed a keen interest in the Little Red Riding Hood story. They keep asking me to show them images of Little Red Riding Hood on my computer. I don’t know how that got started.

For bedtime story, we read the last three chapters of By the Shores of Silver Lake. T read the first chapter (“Where Violets Grow”) in E’s bedroom. It tells of Laura tracking down her little sister Grace, who had gotten lost in the slough. After Laura gives the good news, the Ingalls clan eats, plants a tree, sings, and plans for the future.

I read the last two chapters, which seemed a little anticlimactic. In Chapter 31, the Ingalls family fights of the mosquitoes that try to take over their home. In Chapter 32, all ends well.

E commented that now we can begin reading The Long Winter.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

