Saturday, 21 January 2017 – End of the Road with Ian Hunter, Pondering My Next Book

Saturday night I finished Ian Hunter’s Diary of a Rock n’ Roll Star. Friday I’d gone from page 84 to page 101 – not a lot of reading. Saturday, I went from 101 to the end (page 159).

img_0134

 

Diary was good, but not great. The problem with publishing a diary is that it’s just a slice of life and generally doesn’t have a beginning-middle-end that the reader would like to see. Not much you can do about that, however.

***

I don’t know about my next book. I probably will read Robert Cialdini’s Pre-Suasion, which arrived from Amazon this week. I read Cialdini’s Persuasion about a decade ago and it was terrific.

img_0135

But I couldn’t start Cialdini Saturday night. So, I thumbed Brendan Koerner’s The Skies Belong to Us before I went to bed. Skies looks like a good book. I’ll have to make a point to read it before I have to return it to the library.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Books, Semi-Informed Reviews & Opinions, What I'm Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

