Saturday, 28 January 2017 – The Library, Cialdini, & The Wall Street Journal

img_0152

When my daughters and I were down @ the public library, I found a discard book for 50 cents. It’s a book titled Local Color – A Sense of Place in Folk Art and it’s by William Ferris. the book has nine profiles of Mississippi folk artists that was published by The University of Mississippi Press in 1982. I read the Foreward by Robert Penn Warren and that was terrific.

img_0153

***

Saturday afternoon, I hit the wall on Robert Cialdini’s Pre-Suasion. My plan was to finish the remaining 25 pages, but my mind wouldn’t wrap itself around the material. The part that I was trying to read was Cialdini’s take on why businesses shouldn’t use Pre-Suasion. It just wasn’t very interesting and I’m ready to move on from the book.

***

img_0148My most-enjoyable reading Saturday was a piece from Saturday’s Wall Street Journal. It was titled “In California, ‘Paper or Plastic?’ Is Against the Law” (by Allysia Finley, p. A9). The column concerns the impact of California’s referendum banning single-use, plastic bags.

img_0151

The WSJ loves to bait liberals, and Finley’s piece is very much in this vein – “While pot is now legal in the Golden State, plastic bags are contraband. Welcome to the liberal dystopia.” Finley states that just 3% of plastic bags are produced using oil, which counters the argument that banning the bags helps curb global warming. She goes on to state that reusable bags present their own environmental issues and that plastic bags are only a small portion of the litter in the U.S.

I enjoyed the article. I wonder about the other side of the argument.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

