What I’m Reading – Missoula by Jon Krakauer

I started reading Jon Krakauer’s Missoula in the evening. Before bed, I managed the first thirteen chapters (through page 157).

Missoula’s about the rape crisis at the University of Montana around 2010. So far, I’m ambivalent on the book. Krakauer does a good job of discussing the crisis, including some graphic descriptions of the indignities suffered by rape victims.

img_0172

At least so far, I haven’t seen much in the way of solutions. He discusses the Obama administration’s insistence that colleges use the preponderance-of-evidence standard to adjudicate rape allegations. That standard – and the hearings that colleges conduct to review the allegations – are controversial for the way in which they treat the accused.

Missoula’s a good book on a difficult issue.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in What I'm Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

