Friday, 12 May 2017 – John Safran’s God’ll Cut You Down & The Pittsburgh Penguins’ “Knitting Lady”

Before we left for the beach Friday evening, I tried to catch up my Wall Street Journals. Papers from the last 4-5 days were junking up our den and my wife does NOT like clutter, so I knew it was time to get them out of the way.

The best article that I read was a human interest story on a woman named Michelle Miller who is an ardent Pittsburgh Penguins hockey fan. She buys the premium ($600) seats down by the glass and spends the entire game knitting. Because of her good seats, she’s often on TV and has become a minor celebrity. People are infinitely interesting and the ways that we choose to spend our leisure time are particularly revealing.

IMG_0184

Michelle Miller

By the time we left for the beach, our den was Journal free.

***

We rode out to the beach in the evening. It took a while to make it out. Before bed, we needed to unwind, and I got read a bit more in John Safran’s God’ll Cut You Down. The book is really good. Safran is getting deeper into the murder of white supremacist Richard Barrett and he’s finding out that the truth is slippery. I particularly enjoyed reading about the material that Safran found in Barrett’s FBI file.

IMG_0185

John Safran

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

