What I’m Reading – The First 82 pages of Ed McBain’s So Nude, So Dead

Needing a book, I settled on Ed McBain’s So Nude, So Dead. It was one of the books that I got in the large order that I received from Edward R Hamilton last week.

So far, it’s just OK. So Nude was McBain’s first crime novel, published in 1952. It concerns a jazz piano player (Ray Stone) who becomes a junkie. He wakes up next to a dead woman and is hunted throughout New York City. So far, it’s good, but not great. So many authors have mined the basic mystery format that you feel as though there needs to be something else for a novel to work.

IMG_0233

The book is hard to believe. My sense is that a junky who needed a fix would not be able to conduct an investigation into who framed him for murder.

The book’s cover is also odd. I suppose it intends to show Eileen Chalmers, the dead woman in Stone’s bad. However, the book states that Eileen was a blonde and that she was shot in the abdomen. Finally, the artist drew Eileen with a “mannish” face. I’m quibbling, but – assuming the cover means to depict Eileen – it should have been better.

So far, So Nude is about a 6.5 out of 10.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Books, Books, Articles, & the Arts, What I'm Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

