Wednesday, 7 May 2017 – Reading pages 1-52 in Michael Crichton’s Grave Descend

Wednesday a cold was starting to get me by the evening. So, my reading was short before I headed for bed. I started Michael Crichton’s Grave Descend and managed the first 52 pages. The story is basic men’s adventure stuff. 39-year-old “Dive bum” James McGregor has dropped out and moved to Jamaica after suffering severe wounds while serving in the Marines. He scrapes by and looks down on those who work regular jobs.

IMG_0236A wealthy American comes to McGregor with an offer he can’t refuse. The American tells McGregor that a yacht sank off Jamaica’s coast and he wants McGregor to dive down to the wreck – while keeping everything hush hush.

So far, Grave Descend is very good. Yes, it’s formulaic, but it’s well done. My only gripe is that Hard Case Crime pads out the book by inserting blank pages and by not starting the text until page 17. I give the first 52 pages of Grave Descend 8 out of 10.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Books, Books, Articles, & the Arts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

