Sunday, 2 July 2017 – Sunday Papers & Sports Illustrated

Sunday I spent some time an old friend – the papers. I didn’t read any more of Bargain Fever as the day sort of slipped away. My youngest daughter and I went out and got some groceries @ Publix where I grabbed a copy of the Pensacola News-Journal and I couldn’t resist the “Where Are They Now?” Issue of Sports Illustrated . On the way back, we stopped in a Tom Thumb and bought the Mobile Press-Register. We also have a digital subscription to the New York Times. So, we had plenty to read.

Here are some highlights from my Sunday reading –

IMG_0269

34-year-old Vince Young recently tried a comeback with the Saskatchewan Roughriders

Sports Illustrated has former Texas Longhorn and Tennessee Titan Vince Young on the cover. He attempted a comeback with the Canadian Football League’s Saskatchewan Roughriders. Young is unhappy with the way his football career ended and wants to fashion a new conclusion. The story is here –

https://www.si.com/nfl/2017/06/27/vince-young-cfl-saskatchewan-finances-bankruptcy-titans

IMG_0270

Find out about life on a U.S. Navy aircraft carrier

The Pensacola News Journal had the best story of the day. A reported traveled with the 5,000 sailors on the U.S. Navy’s U.S.S. Eisenhower. This is a look at a world few of us will ever see. Don’t miss it. The link is below –

http://www.pnj.com/story/virtual-reality/eisenhower-vr/2017/06/27/see-aircraft-carrier-during-major-combat-training-uss-eisenhower-vr/343007001/

 

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Working as a college professor keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Articles, Sports, What I'm Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

