Pages 1-92 of Jimmy McDonough’s Tammy Wynette

After getting done with Willeford, I started reading Jimmy McDonough’s book Tammy Wynette: Tragic Country Queen (Viking, copyright 2010, 366 pp.). My mother read this one and recommended it to me, or I probably wouldn’t have read it. Also, I read an online article that McDonough wrote about honkytonk singer Gary Stewart that I thought was amazing. (It’s here –http://www.furious.com/perfect/garystewart.html).

McDonough starts with a strong introduction that makes clear his love for Wynette’s work. It’s obvious right from the start that this is going to be one of those “got-everything-she-wanted-and-still-wasn’t-happy” stories. Wynette thirsted for fame, got it, but remained unfulfilled.

One thing that I like about McDonough’s work is that it serves as a corrective for the myths regarding Wynette – many of which were promoted by Tammy. McDonough establishes early on that Tammy enjoyed telling tall tales about herself. For instance, someone once robbed Zsa Zsa Gabor of a her jewelry in an elevator; Tammy appropriated that story and said that it had happened to her.

So far, I’m really enjoying McDonough’s book. I’ll give it a 9.5 out of 10.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Teaching keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment