Pages 126-132 in John Parris’ Roaming the Mountains with John Parris (1955)

We were on the road Friday, so I had very little time to read. I managed just two chapters in Roaming the Mountains with John Parris. The first was “The First Gold Dollars” (pp. 126-128) about the minting of gold coins in North Carolina in the early 1800s. I knew nothing of these events and found the entry mildly interesting. The second entry – “Sir Alexander’s Swindle” (pp. 129-132) – was much better. It was about a Scottish con artists plan to settle 300,000 Jews within the Cherokee Nation in 1730. The plan might have worked, if Sir Alexander’s reputation hadn’t caught up to him.

About mobilemojoman

I have been a Mobile resident for about a decade. Teaching keeps me off the streets and pays the bills. I am married to a woman (the MojoWoman) who is a much better person than I am and we have two beautiful girls who keep us both jumping. My interests are varied - food & drink, sports, politics, exercise, books, travel, Mardi Gras, and all of life's rich pageant. In the future, I'd like to learn more about sailing, photography, Cajun/Creole cooking, making beer and wine, and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment